Political Theory Workshop

The Political Theory Workshop at Cornell offers faculty, visiting scholars and graduate students the opportunity to present work in progress to a diverse, interdisciplinary audience. The Workshop features presenters and participants from a wide array of fields, including philosophy, history, ethics, social theory, classics, literature, and other related disciplines. Papers are distributed in advance and participants come prepared to discuss them in detail.

Unless otherwise noted, the Workshop meets on selected Thursdays from 4:45-6:15pm at A.D. White House, room 201.

  • Faculty Coordinator: Begüm Adalet
  • Graduate Student Coordinator (AY 2021-22): Shirley Le Penne sl3287@cornell.edu

To join the Workshop listserv or make a request or comment, please email the Graduate Student Coordinator.

For AY 2021-22, the Cornell Political Theory Workshop is generously supported by:

The Africana Studies and Research Center ∙ The American Studies Program ∙ The Department of Anthropology ∙ The Department of Comparative Literature ∙ The Department of Literatures in English ∙ The American Indian and Indigenous Studies Program ∙ The Department of German Studies ∙ The Department of Government ∙ The Department of History ∙ The Jewish Studies Program ∙ The Department of Romance Studies ∙ The Society for the Humanities

The Workshop schedule for AY 2021-22 is as follows:

Fall 2021:

Ani Chen (Cornell University), October 14

Sonali Chakravarti (Wesleyan University), October 28

Elena Gambino (Rutgers University), November 11

Glen Coulthard (the University of British Columbia), December 2

Spring 2022:

Tacuma Peters (James Madison College), February 17

Alison McQueen (Stanford University), March 17

Ayten Gundogdu (Barnard College), March 24

Imane Terhmina (Cornell University), April 14

Robyn Marasco (Hunter College), April 21

Charisse Burden-Stelly (Carleton College), April 28

Melvin Rogers (Brown University), May 5